a sip…the Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam

A friend and former graduate took me to see the 2009 graduate show at Holland’s most prestigious art school, the Rietveld Academie.  I love visiting these sorts of places. My brother was a Goldsmiths and Slade art student so I’m used to these sorts of graduate exhibitions where you’re torn between looking at the work or the achingly cool art students floating around. Occasionally you have to double check that the two empty coffee cups and the old newspaper on the window sill isn’t an ‘installation;’ but I always find something I like, even though I know nothingabout ‘art’. Yesterday, however it was the fashion that really shone. This is by a girl from Iceland, Erina Einarsdottir. It was chains and thread handwoven together. It was so delicately crafted that on first approach it almost looked like knitwear.  I was also informed that she’s off  Central St. Martins next. Watch this space.

 054

 055

060

056

AMS

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

