a sip…do we need a Ray Ban?

Apologies for the awful pun.

Due to the recent good weather (which has done wonders for keeping my holiday tan alive) I have attended several al fresco events. At a birthday party yesterday in London Fields it was pointed out that nearly everybody at the party was wearing Ray Bans (myself included).

Me and the offending item

Me and the offending item

I remember last summer when the retro Ray Ban trend started in earnest. While Ray Bans have always been a premium brand, their hayday was around the Top Gun era of the 80s. With the recent revival of the 80s, Ray Bans became the comeback cool item of the Summer.

But is the trend dead? Personally I hope not, my vintage Ray Ban aviators that I inherited from my father are very dear to me. But I cannot reconcile my slight feeling of bohemian conformity when a snapshot of my peers and I in the park resembled a shameless advert for all varieties of the Ray Ban brand. Perhaps it is time for Ray Ban to pass on the torch…

LON

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “a sip…do we need a Ray Ban?

  1. sparklingwhine

    gorgeous pic x

Leave a Reply

