Thank you Amy!

I just got a wonderful parcel in the post. I LOVE getting post. (I realise this might be an annoying thing to say to all of you who are suffering from the Royal Mail strikes) When ( and at the moment, if) you receive post it is so exciting and so charming, I almost want to ditch my facebook and twitter accounts, rush out and by some beautiful headed paper.

The parcel was from one of my best friends in the whole wide world, Amy. Amy sent me two books. And really it was the perfect gift. Firstly, I love books. It’s always a dead cert with me: give me a book and I’ll love you for life. The first book she gave me is Christian Dior’s The Little Dictionary of Fashion. This is a beautiful, beautiful book. First published in 1954, the book contains charming illustrations and wonderful nuggets of advice that are now hallmarks of an era of grace and propriety in dressing.  Utterly delightful and gorgeously presented, it is a killer gift.

Alex and Jake 049

Alex and Jake 050

Alex and Jake 052

Alex and Jake 055

My favourite letter of Dior’s Alphabet is probably ‘Z’ for ‘Zest’

He writes:

‘Anything you do, work or pleasure, you have to do it with zest. You have to live with zest…and that is the secret of beauty and fashion, too … There is no fashion that is good without care, enthusiam and zest behind it. Zest in desgining…zest in making …and zest in wearing your clothes’

The other book Amy sent me is called Once Again to Zelda, Fifty Great Dedications and Their Stories by Marlene Wagman-Gellar.

Alex and Jake 057

This includes dedications in novels by Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Jane Austen, Oscar Wilde, Mark Twain and Truman Capote.

So Amy gets it right again: a book about clothes and a book about books – two of the things I love the most. Thanks Ams – I love them and you!

AMS

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thank you Amy!

  1. S

    What a lovely post. I especially love the second book, I might give it to someone at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

